Top 20 Episodes of Seinfeld 1-10

Here are the Top 10 Episodes of Seinfeld voted on by our panel.

10. The Boyfriend (Season 3)

The best two part episode of Seinfeld, along with perhaps the best cameo by former Mets 1st baseman Keith Hernandez.

[phone rings]

KRAMER: Yallo. What delay industries?

ELAINE: no no , ..

GEORGE: [from bathroom] VANDELAY, SAY VANDELAY!

KRAMER: Na, you’re way way way off.. Well, yeah that’s the right number but
this is an apartment

GEORGE: [from bathroom] VANDELAY, SAY VANDEL… [George falls] … vandelay
Industries, …

KRAMER: no problem, … no problem. [Hangs up] … How did YOU know who that
was?

[Jerry enters – sees George on the floor]

JERRY: And you want to be my latex salesman

9. The Fatigues (Season 8 )

An extremely underrated episode.  Maybe the best Frank Costanza episode with his numerous cooking flashbacks.

Bania: Why do they call it Ovaltine? The mug is round. The jar is round. They should call it Roundtine. That’s gold, Jerry! Gold!

8. The Comeback (Season 8 )

One of the best examples of how great Seinfeld was with overlapping storylines  Everything just comes together at the end with Kramer getting hit with the tennis balls and George learning of Reilly’s wife’s condition.

Reilly: The ocean called. They’re running outta shrimp.
George: Oh yeah, Reilly? Well, the jerk store called. They’re running outta you!
Reilly: What’s the difference? You’re their all-time best seller!
George: …Yeah? Well, I had sex with your wife.
[Silence]
McAdam: His wife is in a coma..
7. The Caddy (Season 7)
This episode has my personal favorite scene in the whole series with Steinbrenner informing the Costanza’s of George’s death.  Frank’s unexpected reaction never gets old.  Great OJ references in this one too.
Frank: Jerry, it’s Frank Costanza. Steinbrenner’s here. George is dead. Call me back.
6. The Soup Nazi (Season 7)
As great as the Soup Nazi character is, an underrated part of this episode is Jerry and Kramer dealing with the Puerto Rican Street Toughs.  This episode always makes me hungry too.
George: I didn’t get any bread.
Soup Nazi: Bread costs two dollars extra.
George: But everybody else got free bread.
Soup Nazi: You want bread?
George: Yes.
Soup Nazi: THREE dollars!
George: What?!
Soup Nazi: No soup for you!
5. The Voice (Season 9)
The introduction of Kramerica Industries and George’s co-workers underestimating the stubbornness of Costanza.  HELLLLLLOOOOOOO!!!!
Kramer: Whew. You know Darren, if you would have told me twenty-five years ago that some day I’d be standing here about to solve the worlds energy problems, I would’ve said you’re crazy… Now let’s push this giant ball of oil out the window.
4. The Bizarro Jerry (Season 8 )
It has been said that there is at least one Superman reference in every Seinfeld episode.  The references in this one are not hard to find.  The introduction of the bizarro alter-ego versions of Jerry, George, Kramer, and Newman.
KRAMER:  What did you want to see me about, Mr. Leland? 

LELAND: Kramer, I’ve.. been reviewing your work.. Quite frankly, it stinks.

KRAMER: Well, I ah.. been havin’ trouble at home and uh.. I mean, ah, you know, I’ll work harder, nights, weekends, whatever it takes..

LELAND: No, no, I don’t think that’s going to, do it, uh. These reports you handed in. It’s almost as if you have no business training at all.  I don’t know what this is supposed to be!

KRAMER: Well, I’m uh, just–tryin’ to get ahead..

LELAND: Well, I’m sorry. There’s just no way that we could keep you on.

KRAMER: I don’t even really work here!

LELAND: That’s what makes this so difficult.

3. The Chicken Roaster (Season 8 )
When Jerry and Kramer switch apartments, a role reversal between them occurs.  Jerry understands what is like to live in Kramer’s world.  BAD CHICKEN, MESS YOU UP!!
Jerry: Hey everybody, I’m on no sleep, no sleep!. You don’t know what it’slike in there, all night long things are creeping and cracking. And that red light is burning my brain!
Elaine: You look a little stressed.
 

Jerry: Oh I’m stressed!

2. The Strike (Season 9)

Seinfeld’s version of getting into the holiday spirit.  I once celebrated Festivus and I would recommend it to anyone who wants to have some holiday fun. No bagel No Bagel No Bagel No Bagel……

FRANK: Many Christmases ago, I went to buy a doll for my son. I reach for the last one they had – but so did another man. As I rained blows opon him, I realized there had to be another way!

KRAMER: What happened to the doll?

FRANK: It was destroyed. But out of that, a new holiday was born. “A Festivus for the rest of us!”

KRAMER: That musta been some kind of doll.

FRANK: She was.

1. The Marine Biologist (Season 5)

The only episode that every single member of our panel had in their top episodes.  George’s re-telling of the whale story at the end remains maybe the most iconic scene of the series.  That scene alone vaults this episode to the top.

Jerry: Yeah she asked for your number, I think she’s gonna get in touch with you.

George: OK, I’m tellin’ you right now if your kiddin’ around I’m not gonna be able to be friends with you anymore. I’m serious about that. You got that.

Jerry: I got no problem with that.

George: Good. Cause if this is a lie, if this is a joke, if this is your idea of some cute little game…we’re finished!

Jerry: Expect a call.

George: Oh my god he’s not kidding.

Jerry: Now I should tell you at this point she’s under the impression the you are a…..

George: A what?

Jerry: A marine biologist.

So there it is.  The amount of great episodes that did not make the cut was staggering.

Here is the final breakdown of episodes by seasons.  Season 7 and 8 may have been Seinfeld at its peak.

Season 7 and 8 with six.

Seasons 5 and 9 with 2

Seasons 2, 3, 4, and 6 each with one.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Lists, TV. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

