Top 5 Favorite Vegetables

If you’re anything like me, the best thing to come home to after a long day’s work is some fresh vegetables.  I find that no matter how bad the day has been, getting a nice plate of the best food from the earth and watching the game can immediately cheer me up.  Nothing like some Asparagus and Vols basketball.  So, what are my go to Veggies?  Here are my top 5:

5.  Brussel Sprouts

What kid doesn’t like a good helping of these?  Unfortunately, I was late to the Brussel Sprout bandwagon, as my parents raised me on McDonalds Happy Meals.  I learned the error of their ways, and finally was introduced to this wonderful vegetable.

4.  Broccoli

I have a theory that if a vegetable is green, then it must be scrumptious.  Broccoli is no exception.  Broccoli is good in almost any form.  I find that it goes nice with a glass of skim milk as I read by the fire.  The only time I won’t eat broccoli is when it is with Chinese food.  How anyone can eat that broccoli that is covered in grease is beyond me.

3.  Green Beans

I went to a friends dinner party the other night and was sorely disappointed in the nutritional integrity of the food they provided.  They even had 2% milk in their fridge.  The first thing I did when I got home was have a nice plate of green beans.  I was feeling a little adventurous and sprinkled a dash of salt on them too.  Hey, we all gotta cheat a little every now and then.

2.  Lima Beans

I bet you thought there was no way that any type of beans could beat green beans. WRONG!  Some nice light green lima beans really hit the spot with a glass of white wine.  Someone once told me, “100 lima beans a day keep the doctor away.”  I have to confess, my cholesterol at my last checkup was only slightly below average, so I should probably abide by this principle.

1. Spinach

Five for Five with Green Veggies!!!!!!  I know you are a little surprised, but what did you expect?  A disgusting carrot?  Please!  There’s a reason Popeye was so strong.  And when I refer to Popeye, I am talking about the sailorman and not that fried chicken heart attack on a plate restaurant.  I can’t say I’m as strong as Popeye yet, but it isn’t because of a lack of spinach.  For anyone interested, I know the best all you can eat spinach buffet in DC.

So there it is.  I apologize if I made you all extremely hungry with this l

Gallery | This entry was posted in Food. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Top 5 Favorite Vegetables

  1. While you’re being satirical, I agree with your choices; especially the broccoli. I would have included some bell peppers and peas, though.

Leave a Reply

