Overrated/Underrated: Movies

Overrated: The Hangover

Last week, I went off on some of the most disappointing sequels.  In this edition, I want to talk about an unnecessary one.  I cannot believe the amount of hype I am hearing about the Hangover Part II.  People are making it out to be the must see movie of the summer.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I liked The Hangover.  It was a good summer comedy when I originally saw it, but  I didn’t think about it much afterwards.   Since the time it came out up until today, it has somehow morphed into a classic comedy for many.

One of the greatest measures for me when evaluating whether or not a movie is a comedy classic, is if the movie holds up with repeated viewings.  Dumb and Dumber, check.  Monty Python, check.  The Hangover?  Not so much.  The movie’s shocking moments aren’t as funny on the second go round.  I’ll likely see the sequel in theaters, but my optimism is nowhere near the level of the Hangover fanboys who think it is such a comedy classic.  Other than making a whole lot of money, there really is no reason for this sequel.  The early reviews are in and they have not been kind so far.  Color me shocked that they are saying it is exactly the same.

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/the_hangover_2/

Underrated: Step Brothers

I might get some flack for this, but this is one of Will Ferrell’s more underrated performances.  Some have tired of Ferrell’s schtick, but I think he’s as good as ever.  I’d much rather turn on Step Brothers than Anchorman any day of the week.  It doesn’t hurt that he has John C. Reilly backing him up in this one either.  Speaking of underrated, John C. Reilly is one of the most versatile actors in Hollywood.  Seriously, if you don’t laugh at these clips, then I don’t know what to tell you.

Gallery | This entry was posted in Movies, Overrated/Underrated. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Overrated/Underrated: Movies

  1. Tad Ogren says:

    I literally just had this conversation with someone. We talked about the hangover being good but not amazing, and even went on to talk about step brothers and how the “don’t lose your dinosaur” scene is amazing. this leads me to wonder… are you stalking me fisher?

    • kevinjfisher says:

      I am either stalking you or it is a case of great minds thinking alike. being that I am a Comm major, I think you know which one it is. also, I need to stop being a fucking dinosaur and get a job.

      • Ross says:

        Always thought the hangover was overrated. It was one of those movies that people hyped incessantly before I saw it. There was just no way it was going to live up to my expectations. I chuckled a little, but overall, I thought it fell short of what everyone made it out to be.

        Personally, I think this movie benefited from the “Beerfest” Corollary (which I invented). The Beerfest Corollary basically states that high school and younger college aged kids will like anything that has to do with alcohol, weed or anything else they deem “cool” (i.e. Pineapple Express, Beerfest, The Hangover, etc). By talking about how much they liked a move like Beerfest, they are telling everyone how much they drink and, in turn, making themselves look “cool”. Not saying I didn’t laugh during these movies, but I think they are overrated because of this.

        Also, I didn’t really like Step Brothers on my first run though, but that may have had something to do with the fact that I was sitting next to Preston on the Mason Swim Team bus, listening to him giggle like a girl every 5 seconds. I’ll give it another shot.

Leave a Reply

